I’m starting this blog because I was diagnosed with mild colitis two days ago.

Amidst my panic and tears and flurry of Googling, all I wanted to see was some comfort. I wanted to hear people’s stories and know that I’m not alone. I wanted to find other people like me, who were dealt a low blow, just when they thought that life was amazing.

I couldn’t find what I was looking for. I found user forums filled with struggles and tips and messages of hardship. I found links to medicines with long names I can’t pronounce. I found some groups that run together but are more focused on fundraising for a cure that seems to me to be too far in the distant future.

But I didn’t find enough stories. I didn’t find enough people saying, this is what I’m dealing with and it sucks but I’m going to be okay. I didn’t find enough people who were creating a safe space to talk.

I’m sure those things are out there. It’s only been two days and I can’t possibly have exhausted my research already.

But I’m going to start this blog as a space for those things. I’m going to tell my story, and I invite whoever is reading, whoever has Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis, to join me. Join the conversation, create a community. Be strong or angry, or sad or vulnerable or whatever it is you need to be.

I don’t need to know your name, but I need to know you’re out there. I need to know that I’m not alone. And I need this space to figure this all out, because my life is about to change forever.

2 thoughts on “This is a safe space.

  1. The Crohn’s and Colitis community can sometimes be very depressing especially if you’re new to that world. Around the wrong people you feel lost without support.

    I’m glad you’re trying to stay positive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

